9YR OLD TRANS MAKES MAGAZINE COVER: CONSIDER AGE RELATED LAWS TO VOTE, DRIVE, DRINK…

Posted on December 17, 2016

0


Fusion: “As part of its January 2017 issue exploring our evolving understandings and definitions of gender, National Geographic is featuring nine-year-old transgender rights activist Avery Jackson on its cover—the first time a trans person has made the cover of the magazine.”

Jackson rose to stardom last year when she began documenting her transition with “Avery Chats,” a series of YouTube videos describing how she came to understand her identity at such a young age and eventually came out to her parents as trans.
“When I was born, doctors said I was a boy, but I knew in my heart I was a girl. So I may have some boy body parts, but that’s not wrong, that is OK,” Jackson explained in her first video
.”

Consider the significance of age as it relates to law. Age requirements for voting, driving, drinking, smoking, marriage…

.


Fusion: ‘National Geographic’ just made history with its new cover

Posted in: News, Politics